Huan Ying

In Chinese, "Huan Ying" stands for "Welcome." And indeed, we warmly welcome all our new members into our tight-knit community. Please click on the link below to read our welcome package:

BCIS is more than a school. It is a community. Teachers, students, parents and staff all play a role in the school; a place where students can be comfortable with who they are and have the support necessary to reach beyond their potential. Since joining BCIS, my teaching has improved exponentially, my family are very well looked after, and there is an underlying drive within the staff to keep improving. The school truly does live its mission statement of, “Empowering and Inspiring through Challenge and Compassion,” because this does not just apply to students, but I feel it applies to me as a teacher as well.

David Cooney

Elementary School Physical Education Teacher



At BCIS, teachers are inspired, encouraged, and supported in experiential learning. Teachers visit each other’s classes, share ideas, and thereby continuously develop their teaching practices. New ideas are warmly welcomed with open minds, while the school’s support system is set up so the teacher’s focus can be on the students.


Ellie Flesher

IBDP Business Management and TOK Teache

Important Dates at A Glance

Time Line

Items

Department

Nov. ~ Feb.

Return signed offer of employment to BCIS

HR

Dec. ~ Mar.

Receive and return signed labor contract to BCIS

HR

Middle of Feb. ~ end of April

Receive packet on Visa Document Preparation, send required materials to BCIS

PA

End of May

Receive the scanned copies of Work Permit Notice via email

PA

End of May

Receive packet on New Teacher’s Orientation

HR

Middle of Jun.

Send a copy of Z(S1) Visa via email to PA department

PA

July 26th (Friday)

Arrive in Beijing / Settle down in apartments / hand over passports to
BCIS personnel for processing new teacher’s work permit

Principals & HR & PA

July 29th ~ Aug. 2nd

New Teacher Orientation

HR

July 29th ~ Aug. 2nd

Take physical examination (if necessary)

PA

Aug. 5th ~ Aug. 8th

All Faculty Orientation

Principals

Mid Aug. to End of September

Take visa interviews at Public Security Bureau. Hand in passports during this period.

PA

Key Contacts


Head of School (HOS)

Julie Lawton (julie.lawton@bcis.cn)

Early Childhood Center (ECC) Principal

Alan Cox (until June 2019) alan.cox@bcis.cn
Debra Cota (from August 2019) debra.cota@bcis.cn

Elementary School (ES) Principal

Sally Richmond (sally.richmond@bcis.cn)

Secondary School (SS) Principal

Mark Sullivan (mark.sullivan@bcis.cn)

Human Resources (HR) Manager

Grace Li (grace.li@bcis.cn)

Public Affairs (PA) Manager

Darren Wang (darren.wang@bcis.cn)

The BCIS Mission

Inspire

Spring City 2018

ELL 20017

Compassion

Community

Graduation 2018

ISTA 2017

Empower

Challenge

The Great Art Wall

Harvest Festival 2017